‘Ōiwi na’u koko ha’aheo na’u koko “I don’t just want to survive, I want to thrive… I don’t want to die here.”

colouredjustice.wordpress.com

The Homeless Paradise

“I don’t just want to survive, I want to thrive… I don’t want to die here.”

Derrick – ‘Ōiwi na’u koko ha’aheo na’u koko

Derrick - Kapalama Canal

I met Derrick standing by a bench next to the Kapalama Canal. His deep tan seemed to glow against the reflection of the water.  The air felt clean and my skin was still cool from being at the news station for my morning interview. I glanced at him and made quick eye contact. He was busy talking to someone and our eyes met again — this time I waved at him. He nodded and smiled. I awkwardly introduced myself, almost interrupting their conversation, and sort of back-stepped towards a bench.

I could tell he was curious about me and my half-hearted attempt to say “hello.” I didn’t have any specific plan by…

View original post 1,228 more words

Leave a Reply

